Deciding My Own Fate

Drawing of Life

               Drawing of Life

When i was just a kid
I started drawing images
Of what i aspire to be.

To be certain of what i am destined
And not juggling options,
Playing poker,
coz i thought it would be cool
to decide well in advance,
My own future.

I thought i would be a soldier
so i draw on paper, The Warfare
Then i wanted to be doctor,
To heal the wounds of war
Once i draw a judge,
To give justice to the right
And one day i thought
I could be butcher.

Sometimes i draw myself as a richer
driving long cars, visiting daily bars.
Sometimes i toss, to decide what i want
Sometimes in draw a farmer
Nurturing trees, feeding plants

Now i am old,
Still drawing.
Of what i want to be.

“Wish i would have realised,
i was destined to be a painter.”

5 thoughts on “Deciding My Own Fate

  1. I think, that’s how life should be. Sometimes it blurs us to the dreams that we dreamed when we were still young. But, our passion will always find a way to bring us back to where we belong. 🙂

    Very beautiful painting and poem. 🙂

  2. To me it seems you´re a great painter and writer. Liked a lot the theme of the writing, I guess it´s the evolution, and who say´s somebody is not all the things above you have mentioned. I once was a soldier, (not in painting though), also a painter(a terrible one) and now a writer(not all that bad a hope), can I make a living out of these, taking out the soldier part, not really but is good to dream right? Realistically that is, but always good to dream. Great post.

    • Thanks Charly for such a beautiful comment….
      Turns out that i was not destined to be a painter either, as this is just a poem and i am only 27 right now. So still contemplating what my ultimate fate is…
      Glad that the post turn out to be good and you liked it much.. Thanks once again…

Please Tell what you Like or Not Like about the Above Post:

